Parish Priests & the Sacraments Illustration

Middle Ages for Kids
Parish Priests and
the Sacraments


Life in Medieval Europe was very hard for most people. However, the people believed that if you followed certain steps you could get into heaven where everything was great. Those steps were called the Sacraments.

The Sacraments:

  1. Baptism
  2. Confirmation
  3. Marriage
  4. Penance
  5. Communion
  6. Taking Care of the Sick
  7. Holy Orders

Some of these like baptism and confirmation you did only once in your life. Some like penance and communion you did frequently. In medieval times, the church charged people for each of the sacraments. The charge might be payment in money or doing something to bring glory to god.

Religion in the Middle Ages

Interactive Quiz about the Middle Ages (with answers)

Explore the Middle Ages

Free Presentations about the Middle Ages

Free Online Games for the Middle Ages

Free Middle Ages Video Clips

Free Middle Ages Clipart for Kids & Teachers

Free Clip Art

Middle Ages for Teachers

Return to The Middle Ages for Kids